Anyone can write a book…?

Recently, while speaking to a relative stranger, I started talking about the phenomenal success of Fifty Shades of Grey. At the end of our conversation, the young woman said to me: “I guess anyone can write a book nowadays” to which I responded: “Yes… but the challenge is selling it.”

I don’t have to tell you how much the publishing industry has changed for the better for writers. Now more than ever, we have the opportunity and freedom to tell our stories how we want and when we want. As a communications professional by day, I can tell you that no matter how amazing, people will not spend a cent on a product unless they feel there is something they will get out of it – in this case a book. 

I decided to write a new adult book series because I love the genre, read it regularly and thought I could add something different to this exciting developing space in writing and publishing. While it’s a romance, unlike many new adult books it is set in the future, shows diversity and takes on a number of social conventions that we take for granted today. Nevertheless, it maintains its core as a romance that I hope many new adult readers and maybe others will enjoy.

Like any new author, I’m over the moon excited about the release of my first novel. Book One of the series comes out in late spring, which means I have to wait with bated breath for a few more weeks before finding out how well it will resonate with readers. 

In the meantime, I’ve started working on Book Two, continue to learn more about new adult readers, engage with the wonderful writers and editors of this genre and strategize how best to get my book discovered. Because, yes, anyone can write a book… but selling it takes research, a respect for the reader with strong writing and a solid plot and the stamina to keep getting the word out about your amazing story.

Leave a Reply

